Computing (BTEC Level 3)

Extended Certificate in Computing (Pearson)

  • Unit 1: Principles of Computer Science - 1h 30 m examination papers
  • Unit 2: Fundamentals of Computer Systems - 1h 30 m examination papers
  • Unit 7: IT Systems Security and Encryption (Assignment)

One Optional Module:

  • Unit 11: Digital Graphics and Animation (Assignment)
  • Unit 15: Games and Website Development (Assignment)
  • Unit 17: Mobile Apps Development (Assignment)

Course aims:

To develop the student’s understanding of the fundamental concepts of Computing and their application in everyday and technological settings.

Entry requirements:

Three GCSEs at grade A*-C, plus English and Maths GCSEs at grade 9-6 (GCSE ICT is not a requirement but at least B grade in Maths is)

Key features:

  • 360 GLH Equivalent in size to one A Level (2 years Course)
  • 4 units of which 3 are mandatory and 2 are external.
  • Mandatory content (83%). External assessment (58%)
  • Fundamental ideas such as computer components/structure, memory operations, algorithms, programming languages, networking, security and encryption
  • The opportunity to study options which include apps development, website development or graphic design
  • Practical skills are a constant theme throughout the course and are assessed through the completion of 2 coursework projects
  • Ability to study short course 180 GLH in one year (BTEC Level 3 Certificate in Computing)


Two course work projects and two 1h 30 m examination papers

Higher Education:

This qualification is designed to support learners who are interested in learning about the computing sector alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses. It is designed to be taken as part of a programme of study that includes other appropriate BTECs or A Levels.